Meet Myrmica ruginodis

Myrmica ruginodis

This is a fairly common red ant, and one which I tend to find in the grass verge out the front of my house when cutting it. The workers are 4-6mm  (around 1/4 inch) long. I found difficulty in identifying them specifically, but with help and due thanks to Mike Fox from BWARS for confirming Myrmica ruginodis.

Myrmica ruginodis

They are found in  various habitats including woodland, grasslands and gardens. Common and widespread throughout great Britain, and probably our most commonest ant.

Myrmica ruginodis

 

Myrmica ruginodis

 


Double click on images to enlarge.


 

August 2017, front grass verge, Staffordshire, England.

23 thoughts on “Meet Myrmica ruginodis

  1. jillslawit

    Hello Myrmica ruginodis, I think you and some of your friends bit me all over my ankles once, but I will forgive this as you are so beautifully detailed. If it wasn’t you, but other ants, I apologise now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • jillslawit

        There was a bunch of us kids having a picnic by the river and being rather noisy and excited. Maybe we did disturb a nest, or maybe it was just another species. When I was 13 I just thought there were three types of ants: Black, red and brown wood ants!!!

        Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts ...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.