Microcosmos II


Rose Aphid (Macrosiphum rosae) – Again, looking through the rose cuttings I came across what I initially thought was just an aphid, until I looked closer and noticed it appeared to be fixed to the leaf by a silken pad of sorts. I discovered that the aphid had been parasitised by a braconid wasp, possibly Praon sp. The wasp grub would have fed on the inside of the aphid killing it, and now it has formed the cocoon from which it will eventually emerge as an adult. Some of these parasitoid wasps have been used in biocontrol to help keep down aphid pestilence in farming.


Double-click image for a closer look.


24 thoughts on “Microcosmos II

  1. pflanzwas

    Ver interesting! I haven’t heard of that before. How fascinating that these tiny aphids are parasitised. Your photo is abolutely fascinating. Let alone the aphid with the legs is an incredible sight!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Steve Gingold

    I could just repeat what I just said for number one. Seeing this was a good case of observation, Pete. There is a fungus, I can’t remember the name right now, that operates in a similar manner…I just remembered…Cordyceps…at least I think that’s it.

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts ...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.