Check Under The Lid

Enoplognatha ovata sensu lato female with egg ball

It amazes me what sets up residence under the lid of my green recycling wheely bin. This morning when lifting it I found Enoplognatha ovata sensu lato, a female with an egg sac, as can be seen in the image above and directly below, in one corner …

Enoplognatha ovata sensu lato female with egg ball

… and in another corner huddled a Lace-Weaver Spider (Amaurobius similis), in the image just below. And last month …

Lace-weaver Spider Amaurobius similis

… a Daddy Long-legs Spider (Pholcus phalangioides) below.

Daddy Long-legs Spider Pholcus phalangioides

Daddy Long-legs Spider Pholcus phalangioides 03

Just goes to show it doesn’t hurt to check once in a while. You never know what you may find.


Rear garden, Staffordshire, England. July and August 2017.

 

17 thoughts on “Check Under The Lid

  1. Arkenaten

    They will take advantage of pretty much anything and everything given half a chance and a bit of peace and quiet.

    The plastic handle for our wheely bin is hollow and not too long ago I discovered a Brown Button had made herself quite at home.
    Ooops

    Smashing photos, Pete. The clarity is excellent.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pete Hillman

      Thank you very much, Ark πŸ™‚ I can only imagine what happened to that Brown Button. Not only do I get spiders under the lid, but also slugs and snails, but under the base of the bin I get toads which hide under there during the day, and I have to be so wary when wheeling it out that I don’t squash or tread on them! Which I have done. Thank goodness I was wearing flip-flops at the time, for it hopped off into some shrubs and didn’t become a pancake.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Vicki

    While they’re all great shots, that second one is amazing. It makes you feel like you’ve shrunk down to the size of the spider and have been confronted by the enemy guarding her property.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jude

    Superb and scary macro Pete, some of those close-ups actually make me shiver! I wonder why spiders are just so terrifying for some people!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pete Hillman

      Thank you, Jude πŸ™‚ I don’t know. I bought my son up not to be afraid of creepy-crawlies, yet as he has grown through his teens he calls me to get the spiders out of his room!

      Like

      • Jude

        I’m fine with the spindly ones that hang around in ceiling corners, it’s the big hairy black ones that come in to watch TV and tear across the carpet in the evening! I trap them under a flour sieve if I’m alone! Then slide a piece of stiff card under it after they’ve climbed up the inside! A scary operation but it works! πŸ˜±πŸ˜°πŸ•·

        Liked by 1 person

      • Pete Hillman

        At least you don’t squash them with a slipper like some folks do. I always have a plastic pot handy, and when they come out to watch tv I nab them and let them out the door.

        Like

Your thoughts ...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.