A Ladybird Finally Gets Its Spots

Harlequin Ladybird Harmonia axyridis f.succinea

Let’s have a quick recap and start from the beginning shall we? We have a pair of the adult Harlequin Ladybird (Harmonia axyridis) mating.

Harlequin Ladybird Harmonia axyridis larvae

From the eggs the female laid after the union above we have the larva.

Harlequin Ladybird pupa

Then on the side of my green wheely bin I discovered what the larva changed into. This fresh pupa which then hardend and turned into …

Harlequin Ladybird Harmonia axyridis pupa

… one of these, a later stage pupa. This is a different one I found on a Hawthorn leaf. And then back to the really green wheely bin and …

Harlequin Ladybird Harmonia axyridis

… after keeping an eye on it for days I was lucky enough to just catch the adult emerging from the pupa case,

Harlequin Ladybird Harmonia axyridis

Eventually the ladybird or ladybug gets its spots. This is a variety of Harlequin called succinea. The cycle will begin anew.

And all this going on within our midst as we go about our daily routines. Such is the wonder of nature.


Rear garden, Staffordshire, England. May and June 2017.

30 thoughts on “A Ladybird Finally Gets Its Spots

  1. Arkenaten

    Excellent captures, Pete. From start to finish. Most people are unaware of the cycle or what our common Ladybirds look like during its lifetime.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. peggyjoan42

    Great captures of all the different stages of the ladybird. I have seen all the stages, but not together like you have them here. Fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. shoreacres

    I’ve never seen any stage but the adult (as far as I know). This series is completely captivating, and worth studying — just so I can recognize one of these little creatures when I meet one in a form I’m not accustomed to seeing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pete Hillman

      Thank you, Linda ๐Ÿ™‚ Even though I have seen this transformation before I am still captivated myself. Nature is such a wonderful innovator in survival.

      Like

    • Pete Hillman

      Yes, the markings are quite different on the Harlequin. There is less orange spotting on our native, say, 7-spot Ladybird. The Harlequin larvae maybe a little larger. Nature is indeed wonderful. Thank you for your interest, Brian ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Your thoughts ...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.