Araniella cucurbitina sensu lato

Cucumber Green Spider

Cucumber Green Spider Araniella cucurbitina sensu lato

There are two Cucumber Green Spiders which are quite common in Britain and look very much the same. There is this one, Araniella cucurbitina, or even this one, Araniella opisthographa. Confused? You should be, because I was. So to clarify, the species featured could be either one mentioned for they look virtually the same, and only under a microscope will you tell the difference. So thus the ‘sensu lato’ tagged on the end of the Latin name, which basically means ‘in the broad sense’, and so both species can be recorded under this tag where it is not possible to tell them apart due to their similarities.

Cucumber Green Spider Araniella cucurbitina sensu lato

Cucumber Green Spider Araniella cucurbitina sensu lato


Please click on an image for a larger more detailed view. Clicking a second time may get you a little closer.


Rear garden, Staffordshire, England. June 2017.

5 thoughts on “Araniella cucurbitina sensu lato

    • Thank you 🙂 I am quite used to spiders, and have been since I was a young boy, so they don’t bother me much. My fascination and admiration for them fills any fear factors associated with them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • You are welcome. I find spiders fascinating too. I was never really afraid of them, but recently, my sister started acting a little crazy around them – like screaming when they come into her sight. I think that is what has been putting me on edge. It makes it hard to focus on a photo of them when she is around.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Great images, especially the 3rd one.
    I’m not a spider fan myself and as a small child couldn’t go to sleep if there was one in my bedroom. I was paranoid about them crawling over me during the night 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts ...

