A First – Woodpecker Visitor

Great Spotted Woodpecker Dendrocopos major

I am thrilled with this visitor to my bird feeder. I first saw this Great Spotted Woodpecker (Dendrocopos major) on my peanut feeder yesterday morning before leaving for work. I have seen them on occasion in my local woods, but never expected one in the garden, so you can imagine my delight and excitement! I just wish I had my 300mm telephoto lens on instead of my 70mm macro to get more reach and to reduce cropping, but I knew by the time I swapped lenses Woody would be gone. I am hopeful this has become a regular stopping off and refuelling point for him, so maybe I can get a better snap of him. Yes, this is a male identified by the bright red patch on the back of the head.


Great Spotted Woodpecker (Dendrocopos major) male, rear garden, Staffordshire, England. May 2017.

11 thoughts on “A First – Woodpecker Visitor

  1. Vicki

    I love that bird feeder you have. Good to catch a bird shot with that lens.

    (that’s how I ended up buying a second DSLR camera body at a sale – kept missing shots and/or didn’t like changing lenses down the beach near the sand & water spray).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pete Hillman

      Thank you, Vicki 🙂 That is a very good idea with the 2nd camera body, and I know you have metioned it before. I already have a spare camera body, different model but sill pretty good so might keep that on standby.

      Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts ...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.