More of Super Robin

Robin (Erithacus rubecula)

Art thou the bird whom Man loves best,
The pious bird with the scarlet breast,
Our little English Robin;
The bird that comes about our doors
When autumn winds are sobbing?

Verse from the poem “The Redbreast Chasing the Butterfly” written by William Wordsworth in 1802.

Robin (Erithacus rubecula)

Robin (Erithacus rubecula)

Robins have to be one of my favourite birds, and it’s not just because of their bright red breast and sweet bird song. I find their manner both fascinating and delightful, and I can’t help but smile when I see one. They appear to be such inquisitive birds by nature, and they get fairly close to you, and don’t appear to have any fear of you. Maybe, in their own way, they find us interesting, perhaps even fascinating.

Photographs ofΒ  Robin (Erithacus rubecula), taken September 2016, rear garden, Staffordshire. Β© Pete Hillman 2016. Camera used Nikon D7200, with Nikon 70-300mm telephoto zoom lens.

11 thoughts on “More of Super Robin

  1. Mike Powell

    Your robin shots are adorable, Pete, though I sometimes forget how different your robin is from the American Robin. My mind just doesn’t like the idea that both are called “robin.”

    Liked by 2 people

    • Pete Hillman

      Thank you very much, Mike πŸ™‚ I heard it singing again this morning, such a sweet sound, but couldn’t see it amongst the shrubbery, but it still made me smile πŸ™‚

      Like

Your thoughts ...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.