Nobody At Home

Garden Snail Cornu aspersum shell

Garden Snail Cornu aspersum shell

I am always fascinated by the intricacies of shells, and how they have evolved to be so. I can’t help but gaze at the top image in wonderment, marvelling at the beauty and bio-engineering involved in its evolution over hundreds of millions of years. All this to protect and shelter the animal inside which had once been feasting on my garden plants.

Garden Snail (Cornu aspersum) rear garden, Staffordshire, England. August 2017.

13 thoughts on “Nobody At Home

  1. shoreacres

    If I were a snail, I think I’d enjoy living in your garden. There are plenty of tidbits there for even a herd of snails. And you’re right that the shells are a marvel, with or without their little creatures inside.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Vicki

    I love shells also. Not so much the garden snail, more the beach kind. Your photos of this garden snail do make it look interesting though.

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts ...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.