Spotted Wolf Spider With Spiderlings

Spotted Wolf Spider Pardosa amentata female with spiderlings

They say a mother’s work is never done, and not only do these spider mums have to carry the eggs around with them, now they have to carry the baby spiders on their backs after hatching! But only until the spiderlings are big enough to fend for themselves.

Spotted Wolf Spider Pardosa amentata female with spiderlings

Spotted Wolf Spider Pardosa amentata female with spiderlings

Spotted Wolf Spider Pardosa amentata female with spiderlings


Please click on the images for a larger more detailed view.


Spotted Wolf Spider (Pardosa amentata) female with spiderlings, rear garden, Staffordshire, England. June 2017.

31 thoughts on “Spotted Wolf Spider With Spiderlings

  1. That is amazing Pete, and although I don’t like spiders I find it rather beautiful! I never realised that mama spider carried the offspring around. A marvellous shot, and unusual picture. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Stunning set, well caught. I can’t help but shudder, yet find the scene very beautiful too. You, Ark and Rabirius have inspired me to finally start my own category of photographs. I have taken so many over the years, I have drives full of them, there’s something about having a camera that seems important. I dont want to miss anything, and I also want to review life as it passes.

    – Esme applauding his work upon the Cloud

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Aspaai πŸ™‚ They are fast movers, but after a while sitting on my decking they appear to get used to me and do not see me as a threat, which gives me a chance to move in close to get some shots in.

      Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts ...

