Ribwort Plantain

Plantago lanceolata

 Ribwort Plantain Plantago lanceolata

I have always loved seeing this wild flower growing in the local fields, and usually en masse. It has a fairly long flowering period between April and October, and a magical ring of white anthers rise up tall on a slender, leafless stalk.

 Ribwort Plantain Plantago lanceolata

At the base of the flower above can be seen a well disguised caterpillar, probably that of a moth, which I hadn’t noticed when shooting at the time.

 Ribwort Plantain Plantago lanceolata

TheΒ Ribwort Plantain, also called ‘English Plantain’, can be found in meadows, pastures, on roadsides, waste ground, river banks, overgrown lawns, and even on sand dunes. It is fairly common and widespread throughout Britain.

 Ribwort Plantain Plantago lanceolata

The seeds are a good source of food for birds like Goldfinches during the autumn and winter months.

 Ribwort Plantain Plantago lanceolata


Please click on the images for a larger more detailed view.


Ribwort Plantain Plantago lanceolata), local field, Staffordshire, England. May 2017.

19 thoughts on “Ribwort Plantain

  1. My goodness! We share something. English, or narrowleaf plantain, is an introduced species here, but it’s quite common. I love those anthers, too, and just posted one of the flowers from a vacant lot across my street in my photo blog. I don’t usually see so many in a group, though. That’s really attractive.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I didn’t realise you had that blog, too! You have another follower πŸ™‚ Nice one, Linda! I love this plant, but I know some folk, especially where it has been introduced, consider it a weed.

      Like

  2. We have this here stateside, I wonder if it was brought by the colonists or was here originallly as well? A lot of things in my lawn and field are immigrants. Nature is never static. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent shots, Pete. We also have plantain, so common that most consider it a weed. I admit I haven’t given it a closer look β€” your photos have inspired me. The “group” photo and the one following make me think of dancers and their tutus. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I absolutely love this weed and have photographed it many times myself. Love the shot directly overhead – never thought of that angle before.
    …….and the last shot is excellent – macro at its best πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts ...

