New Life Emerged

Woodpigeon Columba palumbus egg

I came home from work one afternoon and found this on my driveway. Now, I don’t really know my eggs, except for small, medium and large, so I didn’t know what came out of this one. A quick look online I found a great blog going by the delightful name of the ‘Squirrelbasket’ which gave me the answer. It is a Woodpigeons (Columba palumbus),Β  egg, and previous to this I noticed a pair of Woodpigeons building a nest in a crabapple tree on my front verge. I am a bit worried though, for was it on my driveway because the adult Woodpigeons cleared it out of the nest, or because a crow had got to it? I guess I may never know.

Woodpigeon Columba palumbus egg

12 thoughts on “New Life Emerged

  1. I’m pretty sure someone hatched out of this one. I often pick up eggs that have falled from doves’ nests (and sometimes find duck or egret eggs that have hatched) and the nice, even edge suggests someone working a way out, rather than a predator working its way in. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Timely post! I’ve been puzzling over a white egg shell dropped next to the house and wondering the same thing. What we call a Mourning Dove has nested in our hedge and this might well be her egg. As I saw her tonight, I’m hoping it was she who was cleaning her nest and not a corvid raider.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m going with that it was housecleaning from the parents. Cool photos, tho…especially the side view one. I like how you can see details like the tiny little pieces on the ground. Nice captures!

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts ...

