Opium Poppy

Papaver somniferum

Opium Poppy Papaver somniferum

This beautiful scrunched tissue-like bloom has appeared as of nowhere in my garden but a few times over the years. It is a tall and hairy poppy, with large flower heads of pink to reddish-pink and purple. The leaves are a bluish-green, and shallowly lobed.

Opium Poppy Papaver somniferum

It flowers June to August, and can be found in gardens, and waste ground as an escape. Introduced to the British Isles and cultivated in antiquity. Scarce in Scotland and Ireland, but common and widespread elsewhere.

It used to be called the β€˜Common Garden Poppy’, for it was widely used as an ornamental plant, but today it is frowned upon because of its use in illegal drugs like heroine and opium. But it is also used in medicine as a pain relief such as codeine.


23 thoughts on “Opium Poppy

  1. This is beautiful – it can pop up in my garden any time it wants. The common poppy here in the U.S. is the orange/red with black center. Thanks for reminding me to look for the ones I added to my garden last year. They were at the end of their blooming season so easy to forget they are there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the view from the back. Nice color and detail. I like macro and close up photography because it allows allow us to see interesting things we don’t normally see. Shooting from a different angle can do this also.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s just beautiful Pete! I don’t think I’ve ever seen one before. I’d love to have some in our garden, and I’ve just checked and can buy them from Amazon! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. They look almost home made with their tissue paper petals and iced gem centre. Art imitating nature. I’ve seen them in garden centres, and elaborate displays, but never actually had any.

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts ...

