Two Toads In a Hole

Common Toad Bufo bufo

For the last three nights and days I have heard something akin to a very old rusty wheelbarrow being pushed along coming from beneath a bush on the edge of my garden pond. It sounds like the male mating call of a frog or a toad, which one I don’t know for I haven’t seen it yet, despite my efforts getting on hands and knees peering under the bush. About four days ago I discovered a toad under a step, which can be seen in the images below, and I thought he might be the one making all the noise, if it was in fact a he. Yet when I lifted the loose slab to the step this morning I found not one toad, but two hiding under there. I thought aha! here we have them, a courting couple, yet as I observed them the rusty wheelbarrow noise started up again by the pond! So I guess I am still none the wiser at present as to what is making all the noise.

Common Toad Bufo bufo

Common Toad Bufo bufo

Common Toad Bufo bufo

37 thoughts on “Two Toads In a Hole

  1. We have many noisy pond visitors in the spring and summer. My son dug his Koi pond under his bedroom window so he could look out of it and observe his fish. We never thought that this placement would be a mistake due to noisy mating of amphibians. They are tiny, but loud.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Maybe if the pond was below my bedroom window the noise might bother me more, but to be honest I have found it rather delightful. Maybe it is because in all my years this is the first time I have been witness to mating amphibians and the calls they make, so I am fascinated too πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What great shots. I feel as though I’m down on the ground facing some prehistoric creature. How close were you in that second image?
    I’ve wanted to see/photograph some frogs or toads, but the grass is too high. I love the sound of them though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Vicki πŸ™‚ I used my macro lens in all these shots, so was only a short distance a way from them. They are very prehistoric looking creatures. I find frogs and toads tend to be quite accomodating when having their pictures taken, and don’t just hop away, thankfully.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I have to agree, it is a wonderful sound, and also a kind of a lonely sound since I can only hear the one calling. But there is a charm to it. Thank you for your comment, Anne πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Two toads in a hole – you’d ‘batter’ look after them! Absolutely wonderful shots Pete; they’re such beautiful creatures with wonderful eyes. I wonder if you’ll have toadlets in the garden soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yet another first, Pete. I’ve never seen toads this shade before. I assume they didn’t fall into some natural paint pot but are actually this colour? I think of toads and moose as falling into the same category of rather homely but oh so endearing. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think the big toad is the female. But I wish I knew and would love to know the kind. Spent part of an afternoon watching American Toads? mating in a large puddle. Saw a group that looked like a 4-decker ice cream cone! Can’t remember what spring puddles are called. Ephemeral something?

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts ...

