Sitticus pubescens

Sitticus pubescens

I found this small jumping spider in my garage on my freezer door. I had never seen this species of spider before. I only normally see the Zebra Spider  (Salticus scenicus), so this was quite a find. Males and females are similar, except the males have a smaller abdomens. The white pattern patches can be variable. Body length up to 4.5mm.

Sitticus pubescens

They feed on small invertebrates.

They reach maturity in the summer, although the females maybe found throughout the year. Usually found around human habitation, on walls, windows and doors, fences and in outbuildings and houses. Also found under stones, and on tree trunks and fence posts. Locally common and widespread in England and Wales.

Photographs of Sitticus pubescens taken July 2014, rear garden, Staffordshire. © Pete Hillman 2014. Camera used Nikon D3200, with Sigma 105mm macro lens.

12 thoughts on “Sitticus pubescens

    • Thank you very much, Valerie 🙂 I normally like to take photographs of species in their natural environment, but sometimes you just can’t, and you have to try and do the best with what you have.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great pictures !I like spiders, and especially salticidae 🙂 they are so cute. I love macro photography, my favorite subject is dragonflies but I am interesting with all the little bugs . Regards

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts ...

